Celebrity couples may be more high-profile than most, but when it comes to making their love last, they’re built on the foundations that make any union strong: trust, communication, humor, patience and unconditional love. Read on to hear love stories and relationship tips from 50 of our favorite famous couples, from Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson to Prince Harry and Meghan Markle!

1. Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds

Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds met in 2010 on the set of Green Lantern, and the rest was history. They married in 2012 and have two children together. “Right now, I’m so peaceful. I’ve never been happier in my life,” Lively said about life with her husband in an interview with Allure.

2. John Legend and Chrissy Teigen

These two are one of the internet’s favorite celebrity couples! John Legend wrote his 2013 song “All of Me” in honor of their relationship, and he and Chrissy Teigen went on to have two adorable kids, Luna and Miles.

3. David and Victoria Beckham

This iconic couple started dating when Victoria Beckham was Posh Spice and David Beckham was at the height of his soccer career. More than two decades later, Posh and Becks are still going strong.

4. Dax Shepard and Kristen Bell

Opposites attracted when Dax Shepard met Kristen Bell in 2007. “I believed the whole world was filled with sheep and he believed the whole world was filled with wolves,” Shepard told Parade in 2019. “When we’re walking down the street and we pass someone, my first thought is, This guy’s gonna try to take my wallet. Kristen’s first thought is, That guy might cure cancer.” But those different philosophies helped them balance each other out, and they’ve been happily married since 2013 and share two children.

5. Prince William and Kate Middleton

The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge couldn’t be a cuter royal couple, but they started out as just friends. “At St. Andrews we were friends for over a year first and it just sort of blossomed from then on,” Prince William told The Telegraph shortly after he and the former Kate Middleton got engaged in 2010. “We just spent more time with each other, had a good giggle, had lots of fun and realised we shared the same interests and just had a really good time.” Fast forward to 2020 and they have three adorable children, Prince George, Princess Charlotte and Prince Louis, and seem more in love than ever.

6. Ellen DeGeneres and Portia De Rossi

This Hollywood power couple has been an item since 2005. Ellen DeGeneres and Portia De Rossi got married in 2008, soon after the California Supreme Court legalized same-sex marriage. DeGeneres opened up about how she and De Rossi keep their marriage grounded, despite plenty of baseless paparazzi rumors over the years that their relationship is in trouble. “We don’t know why. We’re together all the time. We genuinely love each other,” the comedian told Paradein 2016. “Her happiness is my happiness, and vice versa. True love is caring more about the other person’s happiness than your own.”

7. Emily Blunt and John Krasinski

This adorable Hollywood couple met in 2005 and tied the knot in 2010, and they are still going strong. “I had always heard, ‘Never date an actress–it’s too competitive, too dramatic,’ But we’re so lucky to have each other," John Krasinksi told Parade back in 2011. “She understands the stress level involved, the amount of work. That’s completely priceless. For many reasons, Emily is perfect for me.”

8. George and Amal Clooney

The human rights lawyer and actor have been married since 2014 and in 2017, they welcomed twins Ella and Alexander. “I knew when I met her that she was super­extraordinary. I wondered if I would ever get a chance to date her,” George Clooney once said about Amal Clooney. “We were friends for a while and luckily she said yes.”

9.Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith

Another one of Hollywood’s longest-lasting couples, Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith tied the knot in 1997 and have two children together. One secret to their lasting relationship? Not thinking of themselves as “married,” but as “life partners.” “I needed a different form to dissolve all the expectations that I had of a marriage,” Pinkett Smith told PEOPLE. “I needed to do that to see Will outside of husband and see him as a human being.”

10. Nicole Kidman and Keith Urban

The actress and country star have been married since 2006 and they have two daughters together, Sunday Rose and Faith Margaret. “Meeting her and getting married wasn’t life-changing, it was life-beginning,” Keith Urban told CBS News. “It was literally, like, ‘Okay, life starts.’”

11. Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally

Will & Grace’s Megan Mullally and Parks and Recreation star Nick Offerman seem like a match made in heaven. They’re both witty and hilarious, and they even co-wrote a book about their relationship, The Greatest Love Story Ever Told: An Oral History. “I was a hedonist when I met Megan,” Offerman told Parade in 2018. “I was smoking a lot of tobacco and I was drinking a lot. Just by nature of coexisting with her it was obviously like, ‘Oh, if you want this relationship to last, you really have to clean up your act—because right now, you’re kind of a stinky hog-like human.’ I feel like I was partly looking for this relationship because it saved my life.”

12. Prince Harry and Meghan Markle

The Duke and Duchess first met on a blind date arranged by a mutual friend, and it seems like it was love at first sight. “I was beautifully surprised when I, when I walked into that room and saw her,” Prince Harry told the BBC. “There she was sitting there, I was like, “OK, well, I’m really gonna have to up my game!” Their royal romance continued to make headlines when they announced their engagement, and it’s been a whirlwind ever since, from their fairytale wedding in 2018 to the birth of their son, Archie, last year. And of course, their decision to step down as senior, working royals sent shockwaves through the royal family and beyond. Through it all, their bond seems stronger than ever.

13. Faith Hill and Tim McGraw

This country power couple has been going strong since 1996. “From the first time we met, I knew (she didn’t!) that she was the love of my life forever….” Tim McGraw once wrote on Instagram. “No matter the ups and downs, the happy and sad or the good and bad.”

14. Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson

Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson tied the knot in 1988, making them one of the longest-lasting couples in Hollywood. “We get along, I must say,” Hanks once said of their relationship. “I got lucky, she could have done better.” Wilson also shared one secret of their long-term love. “We support each other in so many different ways, and want to be married to each other,” she told Parade in 2018. “That’s really important!”

15. Jennifer Lopez and Alex Rodriguez

Superstar singer Jennifer Lopez and former Yankees slugger Alex Rodriguez got engaged after two years of dating, and these two seem more in love than ever. “You make my world a more beautiful safe and stable place… in the midst of our ever-changing, ever-moving life…you make me feel like a teenager starting out all over again,” J.Lo wrote in a sweet, public love letter to A-Rod.

16. Beyoncé and Jay-Z

This musical power couple tied the knot in 2008 and have three children together. “What Jay and I have is real,” Beyonce once told Essence magazine. “It’s not about interviews or getting the right photo op. It’s real.”

17. Amy Schumer and Chris Fischer

Stand-up comedian and actress Amy Schumer and Chris Fischer, a chef and farmer, tied the knot in 2018, not long after going public with their relationship. They welcomed their son, Gene Attell Fischer, last May. Schumer often gushes about her love for her hubby in interviews, telling The View in 2018 that she chose him because she knew he was “the one,” according to PEOPLE. “I’m 36. I love my family, my friends, my work. I was like, ‘I’ll die alone. I don’t care.’ I’m not going to settle. I don’t want to settle,” she said. “I met the one.”

18. Kym Johnson and Robert Herjavec

This romance from the Dancing With the Stars ballroom has stood the test of time! Kym Johnson was Shark Tank investor Robert Herjavec’s pro partner on DWTS, and the pair went public with their romance in 2015. The following year, they tied the knot, and then they welcomed twins, Haven and Hudson. “He’s my most enthusiastic dance partner I’ve ever had, he just loved every second of it and I think that’s why he’s so successful in everything he does, the way he throws himself in everything,” the DWTS pro told Parade in 2016. “It was a great way to meet and things couldn’t be better!”

19. Serena Williams and Alexis Ohanian

Talk about a power couple! The tennis legend and the founder of Reddit, Alexis Ohanian, announced their engagement in 2016. They welcomed a daughter, Alexis Olympia, the following September and tied the knot a few months later. Ohanian says his wife inspires him every day with her drive and performance under pressure, telling The New York Times that he’s had a “front-row seat over the last three years to greatness.” “It’s a humbling experience seeing really what high-pressure situations actually look like professionally, seeing just what it takes to actually be that great,” he said. “It is a work ethic on another level.”

20. Mandy Moore and Taylor Goldsmith

Mandy Moore and Taylor Goldsmith met in a thoroughly modern way: on Instagram! Goldsmith is the frontman for the band Dawes, and Moore had been a fan of the group for a while. The This Is Us actress posted a photo of their new album on Instagram, and the singer reached out to her. “I took a picture of their album and posted it on Instagram,” Moore told PEOPLE. “Somehow, Taylor saw it and sent a note to me. We started emailing back and forth, then we went on a date and the rest is history. Thanks Instagram, for helping me meet my fiancé!” The pair wed in late 2018 in a low-key ceremony in Moore’s backyard.

21. David Foster and Katharine McPhee

Singer Katherine McPhee tied the knot with composer David Foster in 2018. The two first met when McPhee was a young contestant on American Idol. McPhee opened up about their relationship in a sweet Instagram post. “I’ve known this man for 13 years now! What was once a working relationship became a friendship and ultimately led us here. Anyone who meets him talks about how charming he is, so much so that he eventually charmed his way into my heart,” she wrote. “I’m so proud that he’s my husband! May God bless you with many many more years. Happy birthday baby!”

22. Neil Patrick Harris and David Burtka

Neil Patrick Harris revealed he was instantly smitten with David Burtka, an actor and professional chef, when they met in 2004, and they soon became an item. Soon after Harris came out publicly in 2006, Burtka and Harris proposed to each other–though they didn’t announce their engagement until 2011. Fast forward to the present day and they are dads to adorable twins, Harper and Gideon. “Four years ago today. How time flies - especially when you have someone special to share it with,” Harris wrote to Burtka on Instagram in 2018. “After 14 years, two children, and thousands of adventures together, I’ve never been happier. Happy anniversary, David. Thank you for saying ‘I do’.”

23. Oprah Winfrey and Stedman Graham

These two have quietly been together for decades, but they never married–and according to Oprah Winfrey, that’s the secret to their relationship’s success. “In 1993, the moment after I said yes to his proposal, I had doubts. I realized I didn’t actually want a marriage. I wanted to be asked,” Winfrey once wrote in O magazine, according to USA Today. “I wanted to know he felt I was worthy of being his missus, but I didn’t want the sacrifices, the compromises, the day-in-day-out commitment required to make a marriage work. My life with the show was my priority, and we both knew it.” She said that she and Stedman Graham have a “spiritual partnership” that allows each of them to have an independent identity.

24. Hoda Kotb and Joel Schiffman

TODAY co-anchor Hoda Kotb has been in a relationship with New York financier Joel Schiffman since 2013. The pair recently announced their engagement. Their beautiful romance began in a pretty unlikely way when Kotb happened to meet Schiffman at an event she didn’t even want to go to. “It was pouring rain. It was a bunch of Wall Street guys,” she once told Andy Cohen, according to Omagazine.  “I had to give a speech. They were bored.” She ran into Schiffman afterward when he asked for her autograph. She felt a spark and passed along her email address, and the rest was history!

25. Sarah Jessica Parker and Matthew Broderick

Sarah Jessica Parker and Matthew Broderick have been together for more than 27 years. They met in 1991 when Broderick was working at a theater company with Parker’s brothers, and it was apparently love at first sight. “I still remember very clearly seeing her walk down the street toward the movie theater,” he told the YES Network. “It’s very unique, because I wouldn’t remember most people the first time I saw them come down the street. [But] I remember it as clear as day.” They have three children together, James and twins Marion and Tabitha. Last year, Parker fought back against salacious tabloid rumors that they were experiencing relationship troubles. “Hey National Enquirer and your sister publications, why not celebrate a marriage of 22 years and relationship of 27 years?” she wrote on Instagram. “Because, despite your endless harassment and wasted ink, we are nearing 3 decades of love, commitment, respect, family and home.”

26. Meryl Streep and Don Gummer

Here’s another Hollywood relationship that has stood the test of time. Meryl Streep and sculptor Don Gummer have been married since 1978, and they have kept their relationship entirely out of the limelight. She revealed one secret to her long-lasting marriage: communication. “You have to talk about all the issues that arise, even the smallest things,” she once said. “You have to listen to your partner’s problems, suggestions, and advice, and accept that you’re not always right.”

27. Viola Davis and Julius Tennon

Before Viola Davis married Julius Tennon in 2003, the Oscar-winning actress said she went through a time when she felt like “the loneliest woman in the world.” She decided to pray for the perfect partner to come along, asking for “a big black man from the South who looked like a football player, who already had children, who maybe had been married before,” as she told Page Six. Not long after, actor and former football player Tennon came into her life, and the rest was history. They adopted their daughter, Genesis, in 2011, and Davis is also a stepmother to Tennon’s two children from previous relationships.

28. Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn

This inspiring Hollywood romance has gone the distance. Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell fell in love on the set of the 1984 movie Swing Shift. “He was so good-looking, but he had no pretense about him. I could tell right away he wasn’t a womanizer,” Hawn told PEOPLE in 2017. They have now been together for nearly 37 years, and Hawn revealed some secrets to their long-lasting relationship. “Love, gratitude, compassion, because sometimes every man or every woman will drive their partner crazy. Family. Fun. Laughs. Sex,” she said. “If you don’t nurture that, and remember, you’re done.”

29. Catherine Zeta-Jones and Michael Douglas

The actors were first introduced to each other by Danny DeVito at a film festival in 1998, and they tied the knot a year later. They have two children together, Dylan Michael and Carys Zeta. Like any couple, the pair have been through some ups and downs, and they briefly separated in 2013. But now, they are “stronger than ever,” as Michael Douglas told Ellen DeGeneres, according to E! News. “I’m crazy about her…I think every couple has their difficult times,” the actor said. “The only problem is, as you well know, we’re all in the public eye and it tends to get a little more exposed than most. But we’re back, stronger than ever.”

30. Denzel and Pauletta Washington

Denzel Washington and Pauletta Washington met in 1977 on the set of Wilma, in which she was starring, and they tied the knot a few years later. They have mostly kept their romance private over the years, but Denzel has opened up in the past about his love for his wife. “I grew up in athletics, but my wife’s family had a great education. My wife was a child prodigy. I married up! Her family had a love and a closeness that I didn’t have,” he once said. “I came from a broken home and I said I have to have that.” “I don’t know if it’s show business that has a monopoly on divorce, it’s just that you hear about it,” he added. “I just think that you have to work at it. Not give up on each other. It’s a commitment. It’s not all the honeymoon, it doesn’t last forever, so you work at it. And hopefully, you’re good friends first, that might help!”

31. Kevin Bacon and Kyra Sedgwick

These two have been going strong for more than 30 years, and by all accounts, their love is still growing. “When I don’t see Kyra, I look forward to seeing her,” Kevin Bacon told Paradein 2013. “We talk a lot, and we make each other laugh. People want to know, “How do you do it in Hollywood?” I don’t have the answers. We just like to be together.”

32. Elizabeth Banks and Max Handelman

Elizabeth Banks and Max Handelman met on their first day of college and have been together for 27 years. They run a production company together, Brownstone Productions, which produced the Pitch Perfect movies and 2019’s Charlie’s Angels. “Twenty seven years. It’s the thing I’m most proud of,” Banks toldPortermagazine. “I do think people grow together or they grow apart. We definitely grew together. We were constantly making decisions that kept us close.”

33. Steve and Nancy Carell

Steve Carrell and actress and comedian Nancy Carrell have been married nearly 25 years. Fans of The Office may recognize her as Carol Stills, Michael Scott’s real estate agent and love interest who appeared in seven episodes throughout the series. “I was immediately attracted to my wife,” Carell told The Guardian in 2013. “She happened to be in one of the improv classes I was teaching. She’s beautiful, intelligent and really funny. She kind of checked all the boxes in my head, but I thought she hated me because she was very quiet around me. I thought she for sure knew that I was full of it, and I later found out that she was just as nervous as I was and trying to act cool.”

34. Seth Meyers and Alexi Ashe

The late-night host and human rights lawyer Alexi Ashe met at the wedding of Seth Meyers’ fellow SNL cast member Chris Kattan. Meyers said it was definitely love at first sight. “Yes it was,” he told YourTango. “I had a sense that she was the closest I’d ever met to someone who I could see myself with. Pretty much right away.” They tied the knot in 2013 and they have two young children, Ashe and Axel.

35. Jessica Alba and Cash Warren

Jessica Alba and producer Cash Warren eloped in 2008 when she was nine months pregnant with their first child, Honor, the actress revealed on The Late Late Show with James Corden. Now, they have three children together and their bond is stronger than ever. Alba told Corden how she’s grown throughout their relationship. “I didn’t know how to express myself, and I feel like I’ve evolved into this person who can communicate so you can address stuff before it gets out of control,” she told Health magazine, according to AP News. “We’re best friends, and we respect each other.”

36. Jimmy Fallon and Nancy Juvonen

The Tonight Show host and film producer Nancy Juvonen tied the knot in 2007 and they have two young daughters, Winnie Rose and Frances Cole. Jimmy Fallon recalled his emotional proposal at her parents’ summer house in New Hampshire. “I went out to the dock and said [to myself], ‘Don’t cry. Let her cry first,’” he told PEOPLE in 2018. “I’m a pretty mushy guy…and I just wanted it to be perfect. I got down on one knee and I immediately [started weeping]…She’s like, ‘Are you having a stroke?’ My face was like I was smelling burnt toast.” Luckily, she said yes, and the rest was history!

37. Chip and Joanna Gaines

The Fixer Upper couple first met at the automotive shop run by Joanna Gaines’ dad–but Chip Gaines knew she was The One before they even met. “Her dad made the mistake of putting a pic of the family behind the counter at his [automotive] shop. I knew I’d marry her one day just by the picture on the wall,” he once told PopSugar. They married in 2003, and they opened up about how they keep their romance alive while also being business partners. “We really enjoy the problem solving, but there comes a point when we need to focus on us,” Joanna said. “We have the weekly date nights where we try our hardest not to talk business.”

38. Jimmy Kimmel and Molly McNearney

This is a workplace love story with a happy ending! Jimmy Kimmel met Molly McNearney when she was a writing assistant on Jimmy Kimmel Live, and romance eventually blossomed between them. Today, she is co-head writer on the show, and McNearney opened up about how they maintain a healthy work-life balance as spouses and coworkers. “We actually leave for work around the same time, but I do not want to drive with him!” she told Glamour. “I like to keep it separate, and I’m very good at compartmentalizing work—at home, it’s a different relationship. At 10 a.m. he’s my boss, not my husband; he does say he’s my “husboss,” but I refuse to call him that.”

 39. Sarah Michelle Gellar and Freddie Prinze Jr.

These two met on the set of I Know What You Did Last Summer and began dating in 2000. They tied the knot in 2002 and share two children, Charlotte and Rocky. Sarah Michelle Gellar opened up about how they’ve maintained their marriage over the years. “It takes work to have a good friendship. You have to call and check in and dedicate that time, and most people aren’t willing to put that work in,” she told Us Weekly. “So to have a successful relationship, whether it’s marriage, whether it’s friendship, whether it’s business, you have to put [in] the time, if you want to see the results.” She added that they must keep a lot of their marriage out of the limelight. “To keep a relationship, you have to have stuff that’s private and things that are your own and between the two of you,” she said.

40. Jerry and Jessica Seinfeld

These two tied the knot in 1999 and they’ve been making each other laugh ever since. Jerry Seinfeld said his wife is “very funny” and that her sense of humor was one of the first things that drew him to her all those years ago. “From the day I met her, that was really our connection,” he told Closer Weekly. “We always have fun and we laugh and she’s got a great sense of humor. She’s very quick and sarcastic and all the qualities that I like. She’s very sharp.”

41. Hugh Jackman and Deborra-Lee Furness

Here’s another truly beautiful love story! Hugh Jackman and his wife, Australian actress and producer Deborra-Lee Furness, have been together for more than two decades. They met on the set of the 1995 Australian drama Correlli and their love has only grown stronger and stronger. “Even at the Oscars, I walk out, I put my hand on my heart and I always look to Deb in the audience,” Jackman told PEOPLE in 2017. “Straight afterwards, I will not see anybody in my dressing room until Deb’s been in. Because that is my foundation, that is the rock, that is the foundation of our family, and therefore my life.”

42. Matt and Luciana Damon

The story of how Matt Damon met his wife of 15 years, Luciana Damon, could be pulled from a movie script. Luciana was working as a bartender in South Beach, Miami when Damon came into her bar for a drink. “But he had started getting recognised and asked for pictures and autographs, and then it got kind of aggressive because people are drinking and stuff, and so he came and hid behind my bar…[wanting to] just hang out back there and have a drink,” Luciana revealed to Vogue Australia in 2018. “So I put him to work with me!” she continued. “I said: ‘you know, if you’re going to be back here, you can’t just be standing there!’ He had trained as a bartender for a film years before, so he started making drinks. And he made me a ton of money in tips that night because of course everyone wanted to go and see him. So it turned into a really fun night and then 15 years later here we are!”

43. Robert Downey Jr. and Susan Levin

Robert Downey Jr. met producer Susan Levin during a rough point in his life, just after he had spent time in jail and gone to rehab for drug addiction. She helped pull him out of this dark period and in Hollywood circles, she is known as the “Miracle That Saved Robert Downey Jr.,” according to Harper’s Bazaar.  “I guess the only way to explain it is that I’ve become more like her. I’m still trying to figure out what happened,” Downey Jr. told the magazine. “Whatever I was hungry for when I met Susan, I couldn’t have known how much more satisfying what I got would be.” They’ve been married since 2005 and share two children.

44. Pierce Brosnan and Keely Shaye Smith

Pierce Brosnan and Keely Shaye Smith have been together for more than 25 years and they still make sweet appearances together on the red carpet. Brosnan met Smith, a journalist, three years after his first wife, Cassandra Harris, passed away from cancer. Brosnan has said that Smith was his rock as he grieved his late wife. “Keely has always been kind and compassionate and encouraged me to mourn Cassie,” he once said, according toThe Sun.  He also gushed about his love for Smith. “I love her vitality, her passion. When Keely looks at me I go weak at the knees,” he said.

45. Emma Stone and Dave McCary

When Emma Stone hosted SNL in 2016, little did she know she would also be meeting her future fiancé! But she soon fell for Dave McCary, an SNL segment director, and the pair kept their romance largely under wraps until announcing their engagement in Dec. 2019. McCary shared this news with a sweet selfie.

46. Adam Levine and Behati Prinsloo

The Maroon 5 frontman and the supermodel have been married since 2014 and they have two children, Dusty Rose and Gio Grace. These two are definitely relationship goals with their constant, sweet posts about each other on social media. Adam Levine celebrated Behati Prinsloo’s 30th birthday with a romantic note on Instagram. “The Queen turns 30 today. She’s a legend. She’s THE baddest. In just a few years we have laughed and loved harder than most,” he wrote. “I wake up every morning thankful that it wasn’t all a dream. Here’s to a thousand more years. I love you @behatiprinsloo with everything I got.”

47. Blake Shelton and Gwen Stefani

And then we have Blake Shelton and Gwen Stefani, who have been making us coo since they confirmed their relationship in 2015. The two Voice coaches met when they were both dealing with the aftermath of difficult breakups. “Gwen saved my life,” Shelton told Billboard in 2016. “Who else on earth could understand going through a high-profile divorce from another musician? You can’t even imagine the similarities in our divorces.”

48. Julia Roberts and Danny Moder

Julia Roberts and cinematographer Danny Moder met on the set of the 2000 film The Mexican, and they celebrated their 17th anniversary last summer. The couple share three children, Henry, Hazel and Finn.  They are generally private when it comes to their relationship, but Roberts did gush a little bit about her love for her husband in a 2017 interview with PEOPLE.  “I mean every day my husband walks in the door it’s like a recurring dream,” she said. “I’m like, ‘Ah, he’s back!’”

49. Elton John and David Furnish

Elton John and David Furnish have been together for more than 25 years. The British singer recalled how he met Furnish, a Canadian filmmaker, in a 2010 interview with Parade. “In 1993 I went back to my house in Windsor for a while. I wanted meet new people so I rang up a friend in London and said, ‘Could you please rattle some new people together for dinner here Saturday?’” he said.  “I was attracted to David immediately. He was very well dressed, very shy. The next night we had dinner.” The rest was history, and the pair tied the knot in 2014 after having lived for years in a civil partnership. Looking for a romantic mocktail? Try this non-alcoholic drink on Valentine’s day.

49 Famous Celebrity Couples to Make You Feel The Love - 9049 Famous Celebrity Couples to Make You Feel The Love - 1149 Famous Celebrity Couples to Make You Feel The Love - 8449 Famous Celebrity Couples to Make You Feel The Love - 9349 Famous Celebrity Couples to Make You Feel The Love - 7049 Famous Celebrity Couples to Make You Feel The Love - 48