Tre formed an early connection with Tahzjuan Hawkins after deciding he could look past her confession that she once went on a date with his uncle and made out with him. Things looked pretty comfortable and smooth between the two—until Tre suddenly announced on the Aug. 31 episode that he was leaving Paradise. Keep reading to find out why Tre (and then Tahzj!) both decided to walk away from Bachelor in Paradise Season 7 and what their Bachelor Nation futures may hold.

Why did Tre Cooper leave Bachelor in Paradise Season 7?

“For me and Tahzj, I saw a connection early on and I wanted to explore it,” Tre said during a one-on-one interview with producers. “We had some good moments but, looking at the whole big picture, I realized Tahzj wasn’t my person.” Cut to Tre approaching Tahzjuan, who was chatting with some fellow castmates and asking her to talk. “Yeah, it was a hard decision,” he continued in a voiceover. “But I’m in a place right now where I’m pretty sure I don’t want to be here anymore.” Tre then told Tahzjuan he was leaving. “I want you to know that I don’t feel that we are right for each other,” he said. “I think our communication could have been better… It’s time for me to go.” Tre said in his one-on-one interview that he wanted to leave when Tahzjuan had a rose to give out so that she could find someone new. “She’s not done here,” he said. “I feel completely horrible about it.” Tre said in the car ride to the airport that he was disappointed with the way his Paradise experience turned out. “I definitely wanted to find love out here,” he said. “It definitely does suck.” Things got even more interesting over on social media. As the drama was airing on ABC, Tre tweeted, “I’m gonna make someone’s daughter extremely happy one day, I can feel it. I appreciate everyone who showed me love/grace this season.” A few hours later, he added cryptically, “Learning to embrace the people who look for things to have problems with. I’ve been unhappy and pessimistic before too, so I get it.” Even fellow BiP contestant Karl Smith thought Tre was maybe throwing shade at Tahzj, writing in a comment, “Shots fired.” However, Tre insisted that wasn’t the case. “Lmao nah not this time,” he replied.

Why did Tahzjuan leave Bachelor in Paradise Season 7?

Tahzjuan hasn’t had the best luck in Paradise. The last time she was on the show, she had a bad date with John Paul Jones and struggled in the heat, only to leave soon after she arrived. “I’m just done with love. I give up,” Tahzjuan said after Tre left. “I didn’t want my time here to be cut short but there are no options left.” Tahzjuan then packed her suitcase and left. “I came to Paradise to be able to find love and it didn’t work out—again,” she said. “This is, like, my worst nightmare.”

Will Tahzjuan Hawkins be the next Bachelorette?

Tahzjuan has been around the Bachelor Nation block. After Colton Underwood eliminated her during Week 1 of The Bachelor Season 23, she later appeared on Season 6 of Bachelor in Paradise. and was similarly eliminated after just one date. Now that she seemed to have a serious go at a romance with Tre on BiP Season 7 and that didn’t work out either, some fans are saying she deserves to be the next Bachelorette. For now, though, it seems her status as a Bachelor Nation fan favorite is the best thing she has going for her with regards to becoming the Bachelorette, as there’s no indication that producers are seriously considering her for the role. Next, catch up on Joe Amabile and Kendall Long’s romantic history since Bachelor in Paradise.

Bachelor in Paradise  Why Tre Cooper and Tahzjuan Hawkins Left - 73