Saget was 65 years old and had just embarked on a standup tour with its first several dates in the Sunshine State. The comic’s raunchy standup material was a stark cry from his wholesome Danny Tanner character on Full House and Fuller House. Saget rose to fame on the family-friendly sitcom in 1987 through 1994, reprising the role as the single widower and father of three daughters in the Netflix sequel series from 2016 to 2020. Saget was also the host of America’s Funniest Home Videos from 1989 to 1997, hosting the curated episodes of viral moments before “viral” was a term. In 2005, he appeared in The Aristocrats, telling one of the filthiest renditions of the bit. He most recently narrated How I Met Your Mother from 2005 to 2014 and appeared on The Masked Singer as “The Squiggly Monster.” Saget is survived by wife Kelly Rizzo, who he married in 2018, and three daughters from his marriage to first wife, Sherri Kramer.

Celebrity Reactions to Bob Saget’s Death

The tributes to Bob Saget are everywhere you look. Fuller House co-star John Stamoswrote, “I am broken. I am gutted.  I am in complete and utter shock.  I will never ever have another friend like him.  I love you so much Bobby.” Candace Cameron Bure tweeted, “I don’t know what to say. I have no words. Bob was one of the best humans beings I’ve ever known in my life. I loved him so much.” Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen said in a statement, ““Bob was the most loving, compassionate and generous man. We are deeply saddened that he is no longer with us but know that he will continue to be by our side to guide us as gracefully as he always has. We are thinking of his daughters, wife and family and are sending our condolences.” Dave Coulier, who starred as Joey on Full House, posted a photo of himself holding hands with Saget and wrote, I’ll never let go, brother. Love you.” Lori Loughlinsaid in a statement, “Words cannot begin to express how devastated I am. Bob was more than my friend, he was my family. I will miss his kind heart and quick wit. Thank you for a lifetime of wonderful memories and laughter. I love you Bobby.” Andrea Barber, who starred as Bure’s onscreen BFF and neighbor Kimmy Gibler, posted a montage of photos with Saget and wrote, “This one hurts. He had the biggest heart of anyone in Hollywood. He gave the biggest hugs. I am gutted that I will never be able to hug him again. Bob ended every text, every interaction with ‘Love you.’ Didn’t matter how long or short we’d been apart. He loved so deeply and so fiercely. And he never hesitated to tell you just how much you meant to him. This is the greatest lesson I learned from Bob Saget - don’t hesitate to tell people you love them. I feel at peace knowing that Bob knew exactly how much I adore him.” She concluded, “Rest well, my dear friend. I have no doubt you are making everyone in Heaven laugh until their cheeks hurt, just as you did here on Earth.” Jodie Sweetin penned a lengthy tribute to Saget on her Instagram alongside a carousel of photos through the years on the Fuller House set. “There aren’t enough words to express what I’m feeling today. Nor are they big enough to capture even a slice of who he was,” she began. “One thing I do know, is that we never missed a chance to tell each other, ‘I love you.’ Every time we talked, there were at least 3 or 4 exchanged at the end of a conversation, whether it was text, phone call or in person. And he usually had to have the last word, ‘I love you more…’” “There are so many songs that I hear of and think of him… he introduced me to some of my favorite music through the years. Talking comedy bits with him. The love of standup and comedy history he shared. The hundreds of inside jokes we all had, the kind that only a family knows and that nobody else will ever understand or think is funny. Notes sessions on the show, sitting and laughing all together at the kitchen table on set. He and Dave dancing together at my 13th Birthday party, being ridiculous, as usual. Spending weekends at his house with his daughters when I was young, and having blueberry pancakes. The time I out ‘Bob’d’ Bob, with some joke I told. Him telling me he was proud of me,” she continued. “These are just a few of the special memories I hold in my heart and that keep playing on the carousel of memories in my mind.” “Bob was a wonderful human being. A human being that could drive you nuts at times, and he knew it, but who was so genuine that you couldn’t even get that frustrated. Someone who would also call and profusely apologize for at LEAST 15 minutes if he thought he MAY have perhaps said something he shouldn’t have or thought maybe he took a joke too far. He was a genuinely kind spirit who made it through so much in his life, and was most happy when he was helping others. Whether it was personally or through SO many of his different avenues of philanthropy. He gave great hugs too,” she wrote. “I would always say ‘you’re the best TV dad ever.’ And he was. I’ll miss you Bob. I’ll make sure and tell an inappropriate joke at your funeral. In your honor. I know you would’ve wanted that. But you were supposed to be here longer… How Rude. Thank you all for the love. And to his amazing wife @eattravelrock and my FH family- we’ll get through this together.” “R.I.P. buddy,” Richard Lewis tweeted. “Life can turn to st in one moment. My heart aches for his whole family. In often a ruthless business he was historically not just hilarious but more importantly one of the kindest human beings I ever met in my career.” TV legend Norman Lear wrote, “Bob Saget was as lovely a human as he was funny. And to my mind, he was hilarious. We were close friends and I could not have loved him more.” “Sad day for comedy world,” Steve Martintweeted. John Mayer wrote on Instagram alongside a blank box, “I love you, Bob. I will never forget you. I will visit you often in my memories, and I hope I get to see you in my dreams. I will tell my kids about you. I’m taking you with me forever. I love you, Bob.” Dave Attellwrote on Facebook, “What a terrible shock!!!! This cannot be happening. Bob loved comedy more than anyone I know, it’s hard to find the right words; but he was a legend in the game and my heart goes out to his friends, family and millions of fans.” Amy Schumer wrote on Instagram, “Bob Saget was really kind. Fun to be around and loved comics more than anyone. I’m donating to @srfcure a charity very close to his heart. Also Dirty Work is one of my all time favorite movies. Directed by Bob.” Comedian Christopher Titus tweeted, “RIP Bob Saget, thank you for such a unique and hilarious ride.” Nia Vardalosposted a photo with Saget and Tom Jones, writing, “This is one of my all-time favorite moments with the late Bob Saget. We giggled and set up this photobomb with Sir Tom Jones. Bob was such a kind and funny man, infinitely supportive and sweet.” “Still in shock. I just spoke with Bob a few days ago. We stayed on the phone as usual making each other laugh,” Gilbert Gottfried said. “RIP to friend, comedian & fellow Aristocrat Bob Saget.” “BOB … it was great to know you … Oh are you going to make God blush,” Henry Winkler wrote. Aisha Tyler was in shock. “This is insane. He was so young, and one of the sweetest comics around. Kind and genuine every time you saw him. What a loss,” she wrote. How I Met Your Mother co-creator Craig Thomas was heartbroken. “I don’t even know what to say about Bob Saget. I loved him and was so lucky to work with someone so funny, soulful and kind,” he tweeted. “His role on HIMYM was a voice in the future, looking back on all of life’s complexity with a smile, and that’s how I’ll always remember him #RIPBobSaget… We cast a different actor’s voice to be Future Ted because we liked the idea of Future You telling Past You that it’s all gonne be OK, the ups…the downs…you will make it through…thanks for telling us Bob… and making us feel that it’s true. We’ll miss you so much.” Thomas added, “To say what I’m sure many others are also saying: Bob went out of his way to support a charity that raises money for research into my son’s health condition and was always there for me year after year, he was all heart and a philanthropist by nature … We cast Bob because there is something so gentle and knowing and comforting in his voice, and that combined with the quickness of his wit is just a rare form of beauty.” “Absolutely stunned to hear about Bob Saget. He was always so kind and generous and hilarious. Gone too soon. #RIP,” Neil Patrick Harris tweeted. Josh Radnor wrote, “I’m endlessly grateful that HIMYM brought Bob Saget into my life. I’ll hear his voice in my head for the rest of my days. /end.” Jim Carrey posted a photo with Saget, writing, “Beautiful Bob Saget passed away today at 65. He had a big, big heart and a wonderfully warped comic mind. He gave the world a lot of joy and lived his life for goodness’ sake.” Kat Dennings was devastated, writing, “Oh god. Bob Saget!!! The loveliest man. I was his TV daughter for one season and he was always so kind and protective. So so sorry for his family.” Comedian Andy Kindler, who co-starred with Saget and Dennings on Raising Dad, tweeted, “I will always love Bob Saget. He was the same age as me, so we shared the same references. Having experienced tragedy in his own family, he was hilariously irreverent about everything. As a person he was extremely sweet and kind. #RipBobSaget.” “Bob Saget… Just the funniest and nicest,” Jon Stewart lamented. Danny DeVito tweeted, “So sad about Bob Saget. Rest In Peace.” “Everyone loved him in the community. EVERYONE,” Ken Jeong tweeted. “Really good guy like everyone says & if you did even a small favor for him he would be so grateful and appreciative even it wasn’t much. In tears typing this, he was that genuine and the world should know that. Love you @bobsaget.” “Just hearing now about the death of Bob Saget. Worked with him a few times and always enjoyed his insane humor. A total gent whenever we worked together. My heart goes out to his family. So sad,” Harvey Fierstein tweeted. Tom Green tweeted, “I am extremely saddened to just hear of the passing of my friend Bob Saget. You were always hilarious and kind. You made my life and so many other peoples lives better Bob. Rest In Peace.” Kathy Griffin retweeted a post from B.J. Novak, in which The Office star professed his love for Saget. She added, “Seeing this tweet from B.J. six days ago and I agree. You couldn’t find a nicer or sharper wit than Bob Saget. Shocked and devastated.” Whoopi Goldberg tweeted, “Sail on my friend Bob Saget With your huge heart and abject lunacy,my condolences to his daughters & other family.” “Bob Saget was so kind and when you spent time with him he made you laugh hard. He loved to be funny and he was hysterical. He was also there for everyone. A beautiful soul,” Judd Apatow tweeted. Billy Crystal tweeted, “I’m shocked and saddened to learn that Bob Saget is gone. A great friend and one of the funniest and sweetest people I have ever known. My love to his beautiful family.” Drew Carey wrote alongside a broken heart emoji, “Well this one hurts. I loved Bob Saget. He gave me so much encouragement when I first started out. He was a real friend to me too. Not just a mentor. I always looked up to him. He was SO damn funny and so kind. Ugh.” “There wasn’t a kinder person in Hollywood than Bob Saget,” Josh Gad tweeted. I am having trouble wrapping my head around this. I do not want to believe this. It’s all too much to handle." Pete Davidson released a statement through friend Dave Sirus, writing, “Bob Saget was one of the nicest men on the planet. When I was younger and several times throughout our friendship he helped me get through some rough mental health stuff. He stayed on the phone with my mom for hours trying to help in anyway he can - connecting us with doctors and new things we can try. He would check in on me and make sure I was okay. I love you Bob it was an honor to know you. Thank you for your kindness and friendship. My condolences to the family.” Russell Crowe tweeted, “Bob Saget. A good hang, a good chat. Kind, funny, generous. RIP.” Cary Elwes tweeted, “A person with a kind heart and a wicked sense of humor gone too soon. RIP Bob Saget.” “Bob Saget was the kindest, warmest male comic there was. I loved it whenever I saw him, or heard from him. He was the guy that everyone loved,” Chelsea Handler tweeted. Love you, Bob Saget. You will be missed and loved for a long time." Andy Cohen tweeted, “He had the biggest heart and wore it on his sleeve. He was so generous with his feelings. A mensch. #BobSaget.” “Bob Saget. Ugh..only met him once when I dropped in one night at the Orlando improv to work on some jokes during his weekend shows and we had such a blast that night and shared a ton of laughs,” Larry the Cable Guy wrote. “He was very kind and hilarious and that has always been a special memory for me. RIP.” Abbott Elementary star Quinta Brunson wrote, “Man, rest well Bob Saget. Philadelphian, Temple alum, and incredible comedian.” Howie Mandel tweeted, “Comedy and tragedy are so close together and today they collided. I love you @bobsaget.” Margaret Cho tweeted, “Bob Saget was an amazing comedian and a really warm and generous man. It doesn’t seem real to me yet, I just saw him last week and it’s hard to even imagine him not being here. He was the best.” Alongside a broken heart emoji, Tom Arnold wrote, “The only people who said terrible things about Bob Saget were his best friends.” Seinfeld star Jason Alexander tweeted, “I know that people lose loved ones, good people, every day. No one gets a pass. But the loss of Bob Saget hits deep. If you didn’t know him, he was kind and dear and cared about people deeply. He was the definition of “a good egg”. Too soon he leaves. #RipBobSaget.” “Bob Saget was funny and kind, but also, let’s not forgot, for people my age, he was the original Hot Dad,” Mindy Kaling tweeted. “It’s not important but it’s true.” Viola Davis wrote, “Wow!!! RIP Bob Saget. Prayers to your family and loved ones.” “In shock. A sweet man with a wicked sense of humor. He was always fun to hang with,” Ming-Na Wen tweeted. “RIP, Bob Saget. Gone way too soon.” “Terribly sad news great friend, great comedian and wonderful man Bob Saget passed,” Tim Allen wrote. “Hit me hard. Prayers and my open heart to his family.” “Bob Saget had an instinct for kindness and a readiness to support and encourage. I’m so sorry to learn of his passing,” Sean Astin tweeted. “On behalf of my family, we offer sincere condolences to Bob’s family, friends and all who enjoyed his work.” Comedian Nikki Glaser tweeted, “I’ll miss Bob Saget so much. He was as kind as he was funny.” “Lost a great guy and a friend. RIP Bob Saget,” Guy Fieri wrote. Elayne Boosler wrote, “I am so sad at the death of Bob Saget. I hadn’t seen him in years but he was a beautiful part of the comedy family. May his memory be a blessing to his family and friends. May he rest in peace and may his rebellious spirit live on.” “Oh no. RIP Bob Saget. Truly one of the nicest guys and so funny,” Marc Maron wrote. “Very sad.” Adam Ruins Everything host Adam Conover tweeted, “I was a massive fan of America’s Funniest Home Videos as a kid, which means Bob Saget was the first standup comic I ever loved. Incredibly funny, now and then. Rest in peace.” Penn Jillette wrote, “Fk! Saget would have wanted something tweeted that was really funny and in very bad taste. I can’t do that. I’m just so sad. Bob was just great on every level and we will all miss him. #BobSaget.” “Deeply saddened to learn of the untimely passing of comedian Bob Saget. Beloved by millions as America’s Dad, he was a regular presence in our living rooms, bringing to us the funniest videos and countless belly laughs. Gone too soon, like so many of the brightest souls,” George Takei tweeted. Jim Norton tweeted, “RIP Bob Saget. Everything I start to write about him just feels inadequate. He is universally loved. I am so grateful he was my friend.” Comedian Jessica Kirson wrote, “I feel sick about Bob Saget. He was such a kind man. He was always so friendly and humble. What a horrible loss.” “Nice guys DO finish first. Beyond his considerable talents, Bob Saget was a kind and gentle presence that always made everyone in the room feel at ease,” Rob Schneider tweeted alongside a photo. “A sweeter man there never was. And a wicked sense of humor that would make you howl with laughter. God bless you, Bob.” Michael McKean wrote simply, “Love you Bob Saget.” “Bob was at my house in October interviewing me for a documentary. He was sharp and dark and funny as always and we were gonna catch up over coffee when he was done editing and now I’m crying,” Patton Oswalt wrote alongside a set of photos of the comics together. “OMG! RIP @bobsaget. What a warm kind man we lost,” Jim Gaffigan tweeted. “The world has lost one of the nicest.” “Super sad about Bob Saget passing away. Saw him perform in November and he looked great. Sweet man. R.I.P.,” comedian Eddie Pepitone wrote. “Aw man. I f**king loved that dude,” Brian Posehn tweeted. “I’ll never see him in an airport and talk shit about Stamos again. What a kick in the gut. RIP Bob Saget. Loved you, sir. My heart breaks for @JohnStamos and @DaveCoulier, so sorry, fellas.” Comic Tammy Pescatelli tweeted, “And the world is just a bit less funny… thanks for always lighting me, Bob. #RIP.” I’m so shocked at @bobsaget’s passing. One of the most kind & thoughtful people I’ve ever come across & he just happened to be one of the funniest on the planet. I will miss you so much Bob. Love you dear friend," Joel McHale tweeted. “I’m so sorry @kellyrizzo. And so sorry to the rest of the family.” Next, all the celebs we lost in 2021.

Bob Saget Dead at 65  Celebrities Mourn  Full House  Star - 14