Still, the other animals in Milne’s Pooh stories always include him—and at times, he’ll even go on adventures with them as well. Many Milne fans even believe that Eeyore’s presence among the other Pooh characters is meant to teach people how to support loved ones who are depressed, as his friends always accept him the way he is. Eeyore has also appeared in several iterations of Disney’s Winnie the Pooh cartoons and films over the years, where his persona comes across as a bit softer and not so sarcastic. Perhaps that’s why he’s so cherished by fans that, in Austin, Texas, they’ve even held a birthday party for Eeyore almost every year since 1963, with a fundraising celebration that features carnival games, vendors,, live music, arts and crafts and more.

50 Eeyore Quotes

Ever the pessimist, Eeyore would not be surprised to learn that the COVID-19 pandemic has canceled his birthday bash two years in a row. To cheer him up and help celebrate the 95th anniversary of Eeyore’s introduction to the world, here are 50 Eeyore quotes that could only come from our favorite grumpy donkey.

  1. “After all, one can’t complain. I have my friends. Somebody spoke to me only yesterday. And was it last week or the week before that Rabbit bumped into me and said ‘Bother!’ The Social Round. Always something going on."
  2. “I was so upset, I forgot to be happy.”
  3. “If it is a good morning, which I doubt.”
  4. “I’d say thistles, but nobody listens to me, anyway.”
  5. “Wish I could say yes, but I can’t.”
  6. “Give Rabbit time, and he’ll always get the answer.”
  7. “Not much of a house, just right for not much of a donkey.”
  8. “They haven’t got Brains, any of them, only grey fluff that’s blown into their heads by mistake…”
  9. “A tail isn’t a tail to them; it’s just a little bit extra at the back.”
  10. “You don’t always want to be miserable on my birthday, do you?”
  11. “They made me catch the cold I caught.”
  12. “I’m telling you. People come and go in this Forest, and they say, ‘It’s only Eeyore, so it doesn’t count.”
  13. “A trifling matter, and fussy of me, but we all have our little ways.”
  14. “Use caution when standing by the river bank minding your own business. You might get bounced into the water.”
  15. “Somebody to explain to Piglet what happened when you had been inside a river for quite a long time.”
  16. “Don’t blame me if it rains.” 
  17. “No need to bother on my account.” 
  18. “Those two bothers will have to rhyme with each other… the fact is this is more difficult than I thought.”
  19. “Sure is a cheerful color. Guess I’ll have to get used to it.” 
  20. “Could be worse. Not sure how, but it could be.”
  21. “It’s snowing still. And freezing. However, we haven’t had an earthquake lately.”
  22. “When your tail is missing, Remember you have every right to mope.”
  23. “You think you can, depend on tails. You don’t expect tails to go wrong.”
  24. “It’s not much of a tail, but I’m sort of attached to it.”
  25. “It’s an awful nice tail, Kanga. Much nicer than the rest of me.”
  26. “They’re funny things, accidents. You never have them till you’re having them.”
  27. “The Poem which I am now about to read to you was written by Eeyore, or myself, in a quiet moment.”
  28. “It’s the only cloud in the sky and it’s drizzling, right on me. Somehow, I’m not surprised.”
  29. “When stuck in the river, it is best to dive and swim to the bank yourself before someone drops a large stone on your chest in an attempt to hoosh you there.”
  30. “I never get my hopes up, so I never get let down.”
  31. “Everybody crowds round so in this forest. There’s no space. I never saw a more spreading lot of animals in my life and in all the wrong places.”
  32. “The sky has finally fallen. Always knew it would.”
  33. “After all, what are birthdays? Here today and gone tomorrow.”
  34. “We can’t all, and some of us don’t.” 35.  “I don’t hold with all the washing.”
  35. “End of the road. Nothing to do and no hope of things getting better.”
  36. “Don’t bustle me. Don’t now-then me.” 
  37. “I’m just telling everybody. We can look for the North Pole, or we can play ‘Here we go gathering nuts in May’ with the end part of an ants’ nest. It’s all the same to me.”
  38. “I’m not going to do nothing any more… well, not so much. They don’t let you.”
  39. “The nicest thing about the rain is that it always stops. Eventually.”
  40. “A little consideration, a little thought for others, makes all the difference.”
  41. “If the person you are talking to doesn’t appear to be listening, be patient.”
  42. “That’s what would be so interesting, Pooh. Not being quite sure till afterward.”
  43. “Don’t worry about me. Go and enjoy yourself. I’ll stay here and be miserable.”
  44. “This writing business. Pencils and what-not. Over-rated, if you ask me. Silly stuff. Nothing in it.”
  45. “W O L. That spells Owl.” 
  46. “Days. Weeks. Months. Who knows?”
  47. “Thanks, But I’d rather stay an Eeyore.”
  48. “It never hurts to keep looking for sunshine.”
  49. “Thanks for noticin’ me.” Next, 50 “Thinking of You” Quotes That Will Brighten Up Someone’s Day 

Eeyore Quotes  50 Eeyore Quotes And Sayings From Winnie The Pooh - 90Eeyore Quotes  50 Eeyore Quotes And Sayings From Winnie The Pooh - 61Eeyore Quotes  50 Eeyore Quotes And Sayings From Winnie The Pooh - 3Eeyore Quotes  50 Eeyore Quotes And Sayings From Winnie The Pooh - 28Eeyore Quotes  50 Eeyore Quotes And Sayings From Winnie The Pooh - 7Eeyore Quotes  50 Eeyore Quotes And Sayings From Winnie The Pooh - 90Eeyore Quotes  50 Eeyore Quotes And Sayings From Winnie The Pooh - 73