An anthem to all mothers, the poignant lyrics continue: “Always there by my side no matter what I am going through/And there’s no other, the place where we take cover/And I know everybody’s saying they got the best one/But that ain’t true. ‘Cause I do.” Long before Bublé was a teen singing in nightclubs, or an international sensation performing in packed arenas and selling over 75 million records, his mother, Amber, was playing a monumental role in his life. “That woman is everything to me,” says the multi-platinum singer-songwriter and producer from Burnaby, British Columbia, “She’s a pillar of strength for all of us and the matriarch of our family.” In fact, the father of three with another on the way sees parallels with his own wife, Luisana Lopilato, an actress and model. “It’s interesting because I look at my wife and realize that I married a woman with so many of the same qualities. Lu is the leader of our family too.” When Bublé recorded “Mother” and thought of his own mother, the experience was profoundly emotional for him. He also saw the universality of the song. “I didn’t want it to just be about me. I wanted people to be able to be the protagonist in the song. It could be about your relationship with your kids, your mom or your your pup, if you don’t have a human kid,” he observes. When he presented the song to his own mother, he told her it might not make it onto Higher because he had written another song that he now liked better. And he said she replied, “‘Oh, Michael, crush me. Tell me, please that it’s going to make the record.’” He ended up having a change of heart. “I’m glad I did,” says Bublé. The golden-voiced artist has a lot to make him very glad these days. In addition to the joy of family, his single “I’ll Never Not Love You” is topping the Billboard charts. He’s also embarking on a multi-city global tour in support of Higher. And he has a new fragrance, Michael Bublé By Invitation, that recently debuted. The scent and packaging, which Bublé had a major hand creating, is a blend of rose, peony, wild jasmine and lily of the valley. “I’ve been in this for 20 years and it means a lot to me to have a hit again. I never take it for granted,” says the maestro of the American Songbook. “With COVID and the health of my son, five or six of the last 10 years were kind of gone for me. So, it feels really good to be back. It’s a little like a renaissance.” And this Mother’s Day and every day what’s really important becomes ever clearer to him. These lifetime lessons raise him up. “My mother showed me by her actions, the same way that my wife does. They show that kindness, goodness and empathy are the way to lead,” he shares. “I watch her teach our children through her actions, the same way my mother taught me and my sisters. I’m grateful for that sense of stability and faith that she instilled in us. Because when you are given unconditional love, you’re given a gift of being able to return it.” Read on for more from our interview with Michael Bublé: What is it like to create a fragrance? I am very proud of it. It was a fun journey for me to take because it was a lovely challenge. My manager asked, “Would you like to do a fragrance line?” And I said, “I would not. Thank you very much, but no thank you. I’m not slapping my name on something.” But my manager said, “well, what if you could be part of creating it?” I met with the perfumers and sat with the chemists for a couple days and worked really hard to come up with something I thought was amazing. I drove the company crazy because I changed all the packaging. I named it. It meant a lot to me to create something that makes me proud. It’s a lovely fragrance and I love when I’m out and actually smell people wearing it. I’ll ask someone, “what are you wearing?” and they’ll say, “it’s yours.” Why do you think mothers will like your fragrance for Mother’s Day? It’s a unique, pretty, understated and quality fragrance. It makes a nice and thoughtful gift. Actually, Mother’s Day gifts are really hard for me. I’m thinking, what am I going to get my sisters, my wife, my mom? I understand why it’s hard to find the right gifts. I’m looking for things that are thoughtful, that aren’t overboard but are not underwhelming either. My wife and mom like when I give them like T-shirts or sweaters with pictures of our kids on it. Can you talk more about the importance of your mother in your life? I always felt I was very fortunate to have such a beautiful presence in my life. As I got older and became a parent, I really started to recognize and understand what she gave up for us. And it wasn’t so much as giving something up. It was making a choice of what mattered most to her. This has become the same thing that matters to me. She’s instilled that in me. No one had to tell her to be present or teach her to be more involved or to enjoy the time of us being children. Now that you are a parent, what advice would you give other parents? It’s interesting because if I could give any advice to anyone, it would be to be more present when your kids are this age. I feel instinctually that if you miss or rush it, for the rest of your life you’ll keep trying to find that feeling. And you’ll never find it. My mother was always full of love. She was tough. She demanded her children respect their elders, try to be gracious and lead with humility and empathy. Another thing she also taught us was to never, ever take someone’s dignity. That didn’t just turn me into a better person, it made me a great entertainer. I genuinely care about the people who come see me perform. When you were a struggling artist what kept you going? Potential is a beautiful thing to live on. What a beautiful thing to feel that surely you have something unique and special to provide for the world. And how could they not see it? But I think everyone feels that way. I worked really hard. I think there was talent there. But I also got very lucky. I also had incredible people who loved me very much and supported and believed in me. And without them, I wouldn’t have made it. The further I get along, every time I turn on one of those pop idol shows, I keep seeing people who have much better voices. But what’s important is knowing who you are. There’s a difference between great singers and artists. The artists know who they are, and it brings great comfort to the audience and record company or the people trying to get your image out there. How has being a father and husband changed you? I imagine I’m far more present and settled. I make decisions for different reasons. I have a much clearer sense of who I am and what’s important to me. And that clarity has helped me to write better music. I’ve become very comfortable with being myself. I don’t know if that could have come without time. There is nothing better than getting on stage in front of thousands of people, being comfortable in your skin and genuinely being grateful to be there. What is your ideal day with your family? It starts with a nice coffee and being in bed with the kids. And then we’ll go out and do something fun with the family, keeping the kids active. After we come home, have a nice healthy dinner and put the kids to bed. It ends with us watching Netflix. That would be our perfect day. Usually, my wife wants to watch a movie where the cover of the movie is two people kissing. And then I say, “I want to watch an action movie.” And she says, “no, we’re going to watch the romantic movie.” And then she falls asleep in 15 minutes. I end up watching a marriage story and crying my head off while she’s passed out.

Michael Bubl  Shares His Mother s Lesson That Still Inspires Him Today - 87