Who we are in the past often informs who we are in the present, whether it comes to our work or personal life. For Gabriel Pascuzzi, a lack of self-confidence growing up has had him speak his mind more. And when Top Chef came calling to his current city in Portland, he was ready to express his voice in more ways than one. He quickly became one of the most outspoken chefs on the show. And in challenges with partners or teams, where he was tasked with working with a competitor, he would often take the lead, much to the chagrin of some others. Despite the interpersonal difficulties, though, Gabriel got results. He finished in the top three of the first four Elimination Challenges, showing a talent for keeping things simple, pure, and detail-oriented. Though he hit a stumbling block with a flimsy action premise for cauliflower tots, he got back in action the very next Quickfire Challenge, with his rich love of mushrooms earning him his first challenge win and $10,000 to boot. After a season of butting heads with team members, ironically he would go home during his most harmonious partnership with Nelson German. The guys were on a good pace with their steelhead and antelope until Nelson overcooked the fish. Gabriel contemplated a last-minute pivot to serve only the skin, but it didn’t save their skins in the game. Instead, they went off to Last Chance Kitchen, with Gabriel feeling this was not his time to go. Read on to hear Gabriel’s thoughts on his time in the game, and check out Last Chance Kitchen to watch him and other eliminated chefs fight for redemption and a chance to get back into the competition. What compelled you to apply for Top Chef, especially in the middle of the pandemic when things are so hard on the restaurant industry? It’s not like you choose when you get to go on Top Chef; it’s an opportunity you don’t pass up. I have always wanted to go on Top Chef. When I got that email to apply, it gave me some hope and something positive to focus on. Everything had been so uncertain and negative; it was nice to have a light. I checked with my management team, worked my butt off to get all the systems set and have the tools available for them to be okay while I was gone. We all knew it would help the restaurants, help keep staff employed, and give us a better chance at a future. What was your reaction when you found out that the season would be filming in Portland? I kind of had a feeling! I am a fan of Top Chef; I’ve seen every season, and there are only so many locations left that made sense over Portland. I have mixed feelings about it. On the one hand, it is amazing to be the hometown chef and be able to highlight our city and state; on the other hand, it would have been fun to go to a new city and see and experience new things, especially being locked down prior. You previously worked for Tom Colicchio. Did that impact your cooking at all, since you knew his specific tastes? Inherently yes. I worked at Colicchio and Sons for over two years; I am trained in his style and thinking. It honestly was my favorite restaurant to work at. I don’t think I cooked to his tastes particularly, though. There were so many different judges; I just tried to cook food I would want to eat. You finished in the top of the first two Elimination Challenges. How did it feel to build that momentum early on? It definitely felt good to come out of the gate strong. It gave me the confidence that I was heading in the right direction. I think a couple of chefs definitely struggled with not getting feedback. There were many comments about you being strong-headed in pair and team situations. How do you respond to seeing that? I think I am a blunt, honest person. I don’t beat around the bush, definitely not passive-aggressive. I am not fake. I was a pushover for so long in my life, when I was unhappy about my weight and didn’t have confidence in myself. I learned only you can stand up for yourself, so I speak up now. Especially in a competition when not speaking up can get you sent home. I tried to be a team player and give as much as I take and helped my teammates a lot and other chefs when not in team challenges. You got to win your first Quickfire challenge in the past episode. How did it feel to do that, especially cooking something you know so well as mushrooms? That felt great! No complaints with being in the top 3, but getting a win was amazing, especially when it came with 10K! Although it was bittersweet, I guess. (Laughs.) What was your dynamic working with Nelson as a partner? Nelson is the definition of a gentleman. I think he was definitely hurting from his knees, so it is hard to say fully. We are going to plan a dinner together soon; I am really looking forward to it. We have caught up a few times; you can tell he has way more energy and spark. Can you elaborate more on what happened right at plating with regards to the fish? Do you feel like you would have survived if you had just served the fish skin? Like Tom said, when the albumen started to come out of a fish, it is a telltale sign that it has been cooked too hard or overcooked. I knew it was going to be an issue. I hate wasting food, so it was a battle within. In hindsight, we should have scraped the fish skin off. I think we would have been safe. It was their only real complaint. Like the judges said, we went home for a good dish. Were you surprised you and Nelson were eliminated over Maria and Byron and Avishar and Chris? No, I knew it. I could tell by how the judges spoke. They said our dish just didn’t connect. I was hoping maybe one of the other teams screwed up worse, but I didn’t hear anything that made me think that. I was hoping the cook on the antelope saved us. How did it feel to follow up your elimination by jumping right into Last Chance Kitchen? You really walk in and start cooking. Usually, you can get your bearings and think a little bit while they are setting up the camera or doing a couple of takes of something, but it’s “ready, set cook.” Mentally I was pretty fried. I know I won the Quickfire, but I think my strengths were the Elimination Challenges when I can think. I was talking with Gregory Gourdet the other day, and I kind of realized COVID stole my creativity for a good while. I was in fight or flight mode for so long, creativity and thinking of new dishes got shoved to the back of the bus. I was just starting to get out of that fog when I got kicked off. I am a highly creative person. For me, some of the food I did on Top Chef isn’t really how I would view my cooking.
Are there any links or recommendations for other chefs during this time? One of the best books I have ever read and read every few years is The Lost Art of Listening. It is a really amazing book that helps with all different types of relationships and helps bring anxiety down. You learn to listen to yourself too. Next, check out our interview with Nelson German, who was eliminated alongside Gabriel in Episode 6.

Top Chef Season 18   Gabriel Pascuzzi Exit Interview - 65