But in an AGT first, on week two of the auditions for season 17, as Simon Cowell was returning to his seat at the judges’ table, he heard this incredible voice in the audience singing “Amazing Grace” and asked that the young girl be brought to him. “I was literally just coming back in, and I heard her voice,” Simon said. “I was thinking, ‘Who the hell is that?’ Then I see this little thing in the audience.” Without the judges knowing, AGT asked 11-year-old Madison Taylor Baez from Yorba Linda, Calif., to sit in the audience and start her audition from there. “People always ask what happens in the commercial breaks and amazing things happen in the commercial breaks,” Howie Mandel, who also didn’t have a clue, said. After Madison performed from her seat, the audience called out, “On that stage! On that stage,” and Simon, Heidi Klum, Sofia Vergara and Howie all encouraged her to go up on the AGT stage. “It’s always been my dream to be on this show and I’m finally here,” said Maddie, tears running down her cheeks from emotion. “I’m freaking out right now.” “Why not audition? Simon asked. “You don’t need a track. Just do what you just did.” Even with tears still flowing, Maddie managed to perform a longer rendition of  “Amazing Grace” as her father watched proudly from the audience, which gave her a standing ovation. When she was done, Simon who still wasn’t in on the joke, said, “Incredible! In all the years we’ve done this, this has never actually happened before. I normally do leave during the break because people do sing, so this is actually the opposite. It actually brought me back into the room.” “This is what you wanted, this is your dream,” Howie told Maddie. “To be on this stage, not just to watch. Everybody’s going to know your name now, young lady. Your life has just changed. What would you do with $1 million?” “I would help my dad with cancer research,” Maddie said. “He’s had stage 4 colon cancer for the past nine years, so I would open with that.” Simon then said, “We’re just going to vote” as the audience chanted, “Golden Buzzer! Golden Buzzer!” And Howie listened and sent Maddie straight to the Live Shows by pressing the Golden Buzzer. “I think this is just the start for you,” Sofia said as Maddie’s dad Chris joined her on the stage. Simon asked about his health, to which he responded, “I’ve been battling cancer for the last nine years and that’s how she learned to sing. She would sing to me at the hospital through all my surgeries and chemo treatments, helping me get better. I’m very well.” America’s Got Talent airs Tuesday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Next, Summer Fun! Everything You Need To Know About America’s Got Talent Season 17

Watch Howie Mandel s America s Got Talent s Golden Buzzer for Season 17  2022  - 20Watch Howie Mandel s America s Got Talent s Golden Buzzer for Season 17  2022  - 19