The 28-year-old Lovato’s relationship with her family is a complicated one, but as Dancing With the Devil illustrates, her sisters have influenced her and helped her greatly throughout the course of her high-flying career and often tumultuous private life. With the first parts of the doc dropping today, here’s everything you may be wondering about Demi Lovato’s sisters and how they’ve supported her over the years.

Who are Demi Lovato’s sisters?

Dallas Leigh Lovato

Dallas Leigh Lovato is one of Demi’s two older sisters. She was born to their parents, Dianna De La Garza and Patrick Lovato, in 1988 (making her about four-and-a-half years older than Demi). Dallas is an actress who’s appeared in such movies as No Vacancy and Runnin’ From My Roots; she’s also voiced characters in several animated projects and once guest-starred on an episode of Selena Gomez’s Disney Channel kid-com, Wizards of Waverly Place, as well as Demi’s Sonny With a Chance. According to her Instagram, the 33-year-old Dallas is also “an acting coach in film, television and voiceover, as well as a casting director and public speaker.”

Madison De La Garza

Madison De La Garza is Demi’s younger half-sister. She was born in 2001 to Demi’s mom, Dianna, andJames Edward “Eddie” De La Garza, who Dianna married after Patrick. Like Dallas, Madison is also an actress who once guested on Sonny With a Chance; she played a younger version of Lovato’s character, Sonny Munroe. De La Garza’s credits also include the TV shows Bad Teacher and Desperate Housewives, where she played one of Eva Longoria’s daughters. After spending her childhood in front of the camera, the 19-year-old Madison has also launched a writing and directing career. According to her IMDb, she’s already written two short films and directed a third, titled Pink Elephant.

Amber Smith

In 2013, Lovato revealed that she also has an older half-sister,Amber Smith, who she never knew growing up. “She’s my half-sister, but I talked to her for the very first time in my life around when I turned 20,” Lovato explained at the time. Since that reveal, Lovato has still shared little about Amber, but she’s believed to be born to Lovato’s dad, Patrick (who passed away in 2013) and an unknown woman.

Demi Lovato and Dallas Lovato have each others’ backs

While Demi’s older sister hasn’t experienced the same level of mega-stardom as she has, it’s clear that Dallas still has her baby sister’s back—and vice versa. In fact, when Dallas shared in an emotional Instagram post this month, “Lately I’ve had horrible, crippling anxiety and it’s because of one person that I thought would be in my life forever,” Demi commented, “Proud of you!” Dallas wrote back, “Thank you for being her for me especially now… I’m so happy I have you as my sister AND FRIEND.” Dallas is featured in the new doc. In a shot from episode 1, taken before Demi went on tour and before her overdose, Dallas can be seen hugging her sister and saying, “Hey, be careful on tour. I don’t know why but I just felt like I needed to tell you that…just be careful…take care of yourself.” Demi smiles back.

Madison De La Garza was a big reason Demi Lovato first got sober

Lovato and De La Garza love being one another’s cheerleaders.  In 2018, De La Garza thanked “God, the incredible doctors, Demi’s team, and everyone across the world who offered their support” on Instagram while celebrating Demi’s 26th birthday (her first since that near-fatal overdose). De La Garza added that Lovato is “my sister—not a singer, not a celebrity, and definitely not what she’s been described as in the media. She’s a daughter, a friend, and my big sister… and I am so, so thankful that I can tell her happy birthday.” Less than a year later, it was Lovato’s turn to cheer for De La Garza by attending her high school graduation in L.A. On social media, Lovato shared a video of De La Garza receiving her diploma while Lovato called out, “Yeah, baby girl!” Their relationship was tested early on when Lovato was first battling her addictions. The first time Lovato got sober, it was because her family said they wouldn’t allow her to see her younger sister Madison. She made changes, but obviously, it hasn’t been easy. After her 2018 overdose, Demi woke up blind, but her sister Madison was by her side. Demi literally couldn’t see her though, and the poignancy wasn’t lost on the singer, who remarked, “I think that God has a twisted sense of humor sometimes.”

Amber Smith has respectfully given Demi Lovato space

There’s still little that’s known about Amber Smith since Lovato talked about her way back in 2013. Lovato did say at the time that she was touched by Amber’s decision to give Lovato her space, which Smith apparently did because she didn’t want Lovato thinking she was after her half-sister’s fame and fortune. “I asked her, I said, ‘Why haven’t you ever contacted me?’” Lovato explained. “She said, ‘Well, I never wanted you to think I wanted anything from you. So I’ve just been kind of waiting to see if you wanted a relationship.’ I thought that was so incredible.” Next, read through the most inspiring Demi Lovato lyrics. 

Who Are Demi Lovato s Sisters Madison  Dallas   Amber  - 44